How to Disable Emails from Google+

Yesterday, Google announced that any Google+ user will soon be able to send an email to your Gmail account. This feature will automatically be turned on for all Google+ / Gmail users and will be available to use once everyone has received the official announcement email from Google. Brands are excluded from this feature and if you don’t have a user in your Circles, they can only email you once via Google+ so you cannot be bombarded with follow up emails.

Not interested in this? Google added a new setting in Gmail to control this new feature. To turn it off, visit your general settings page and find the Email via Google+ option. In the drop down menu select no one.

Untitled

Here’s the full email from Google:

Gmail update: Reach more people you know

Ever wanted to email someone you know, but haven’t yet exchanged email addresses? Starting this week, when you’re composing a new email, Gmail will suggest your Google+ connections as recipients, even if you haven’t exchanged email addresses yet.

How it works with email addresses
Emailing Google+ connections works a bit differently to protect the privacy of email addresses. Your email address isn’t visible to your Google+ connections until you send them an email, and their email addresses are not visible to you until they respond.

Receiving email from people outside your circles
If you receive an email from someone outside your circles, it will be filtered into the Social category of the inbox (if enabled) and only after you respond or add them to your circles, can they start another conversation with you.

Suggested reading: 

Why You Shouldn’t Freak Out Over Gmail’s Update

Sorry Google+, We Still Won’t Come to Your Party

Advertisements